Shrinkage

Elaine: Why does it shrink?

George: It just does.

George is right. It just does shrink. Every time. And there is no answer.

Shortcrust pastry shrinkage is one of my most frustrating kitchen fails. Every time I google the subject and try yet another tip, it never works.

I have been planning to invest in some bakeware because I want to make my own pies to take to the footy. I love the tradition of a pie on a Saturday afternoon at the footy, but I can’t bring myself to eat those rat coffins, as we used to call them at school. I want to make the fillings hearty and nutritious. But I have to get the pastry right first.

After years of looking for answers, I stumbled across this tutorial on Azelia’s Kitchen – an amazing blog by Portugese born cook, Azelia. Even if you’re not interested in shortcrust pastry, do check out her blog – it is full of fantastic recipes and beautiful photos.

Azelia’s tutorial is comprehensive, has step by step photos and answers all my questions. She is brilliant.

Now it’s time for me to show shortcrust pastry who its daddy is.

http://www.azeliaskitchen.net/blog/why-does-my-pastry-shrink-step-by-step-guide-to-shortcrust-pastry/

Leave a Reply

The Simplicity Project ~ Jenn Pike

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Abbotsford Kitchen

Go Cook Yourself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

