Frozen Wine Cooler with A Difference

Its Grand Final day and I’m getting ready for a barbecue with friends and family.  I made these last night, and I’m so pleased with the result I just had to post them.  I nicked the idea from Jamie Oliver, who does this with bottles of vodka. The flower idea was mine, inspired by the gorgeous spring flowers in my neighbourhood, which I collected on a little walk to a friend’s house yesterday.  Aren’t they beautiful?

To make them, get a soft drink bottle that is larger and wider than the wine (or vodka, gin or whatever) bottle and cut the top off. I use these cheap food storage containers that you can get at $2 shops, they are terrible for food storage but perfect for this.  Put the bottle inside, pour water in until it almost reaches the top, then push down slices of citrus and herbs, or flowers if you like, as I have done.  Freeze overnight. Run some warm water over the outside bottle until it slides away.

4 thoughts on “Frozen Wine Cooler with A Difference

  1. Tess September 25, 2010 at 2:21 pm Reply

    Inspiring stuff. Am going to give it a go.

  2. louisabellissima March 16, 2011 at 6:45 pm Reply

    They are incredibly beautiful. Thanks for sending me the link. I found the first little spring flowers in my garden yesterday, so it’s the perfect time to try your lovely idea. xx

  3. Abby August 5, 2011 at 9:46 pm Reply

    this looks so cool! How long do they last before they start melting? Do you need to keep them sitting in a bowl to catch the drips?

    • theabbotsfordkitchen August 5, 2011 at 10:25 pm Reply

      Hi there, it depends on how hot it is! They’ll last around three hours unless it’s really hot. And yes you’ll need to sit them in a tray. 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Simplicity Project ~ Jenn Pike

Transform your body & fall in love with yourself with Simplicity & Ease

The Abbotsford Kitchen

Go Cook Yourself

