Get Ready for Summer with The Abbotsford Kitchen

Got a little extra chunk in your trunk? If you love food and cooking as much as I do, chances are you’ve come to the end of a long winter’s comfort grazing with a little more padding than you’d like.  While I don’t believe in diets, I do try to eat as healthy as possible most of the time.  Even so, there comes a time when some extra effort is required if one doesn’t wish to run the risk of being dragged back into the sea by ORRCA on one’s first visit to the beach.

For the next month I’m going to focus on recipes that are healthy and delicious.  If you’re also wanting to lose some of your winter coat, why not join me? I’ll be regularly posting healthy recipes (I’ll aim for one a day, but we’ll see) and you can share your recipes and tips on my Facebook page.

I thought I’d start with a fantastically healthy lunch that is perfect to take to work during the week.  I regularly make this, and I cook a few days’ worth of brown rice at once.  If you cook the rice the night before, you won’t have so much to do in the morning while you’re trying to get out the door.   It will require a little of your time in those precious morning hours between sleep and work, but you’ll also save time during the day by not having to go out and buy  an unsatisfying and unhealthy lunch.

BROWN RICE, TUNA AND GRATED VEGETABLE SALAD

  • 1 cup (uncooked) brown rice
  • 1 x 95 gram can of tuna (avoid flavoured tuna, or check the ingredients to make sure it’s not full of rubbish)
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 beetroot (fresh not tinned)
  • 1 zucchini
  • A handful of fresh chopped parsley (or use coriander, basil or mint if you prefer)
  • About a tablespoon of finely chopped red onion, or shallot
  • Handful of spinach or rocket leaves, roughly chopped
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Optional: a boiled egg, or some roast almonds

Cook the brown rice (instructions will be on the packet if you’re unsure), drain and cool, and tip as much as you want to use into a mixing bowl.  Wash the carrot, beetroot and zucchini.  You don’t need to peel the beetroot, just slice the top or bottom bit off.  Grate about a third of a cup each vegetable (use as much as you think you want/need)  into a bowl with a cheese grater.  You should use about half of each vegetable. Add the chopped herbs, onions and rocket/spinach.  Season with pepper, and drizzle over a little olive oil and balsamic.  Mix to combine.  At this point I put it into a container ready to take to work, adding the tuna when I get there.

If you want some extra protein and omega 3’s, add a boiled egg or some roast almonds (not too many!).

This amount of rice will be enough to make two lunches, but you’ll need the same again of all the other ingredients.

2 thoughts on “Get Ready for Summer with The Abbotsford Kitchen

  1. Tess October 9, 2010 at 8:43 am Reply

    A few months ago I was diagnosed with dangerously low iron levels, so went on a quest to find foods to restore some balance. Oysters and clams apparantely are a great source. But not for breakfast. So I came across a muesli recipe that not only is high in iron and tastes yum but it has given me the unexpected side effect of a little weight loss. I feel better and have a little spring in my step.

    Here’s the recipe. It makes about one large packet/box of shop-bought muesli.

    Mix 2 cups of raw rolled oats with 1/4 to 1/2 cup of the following:

    1. Sunflower kernals
    2. Pumpkin seeds
    3. Almond meal
    4. Wheatgerm
    5. Flax seeds
    6. Raisons
    7. Chopped dried apricots
    8. Chopped prunes
    9. Dried cranberries
    10.Currants
    11.Sesame seeds
    12.Coconut

    Sometimes, I add flaxmeal and allbran but you can add whatever you like. The first 8 ingredients on the list are good for iron. The rest I add because I like their flavours. I eat my muesli with fruit juice. Husbet eats his with soy milk.

    • theabbotsfordkitchen October 9, 2010 at 11:44 am Reply

      Great minds Tess! I just (re-)posted my toasted muesli recipe. Great to hear you’re getting your energy back and losing weight 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Simplicity Project ~ Jenn Pike

Transform your body & fall in love with yourself with Simplicity & Ease

The Abbotsford Kitchen

Go Cook Yourself

