Raspberry and Ricotta “Head Wound” Pancakes

I know a lot of people who say they don’t acknowledge halloween because its an American holiday.  My view is that I listen to American recording artists, read American books, and watch American tv shows and films, so what’s the difference?  Having said that, I’ve been too busy this week to do anything special for Halloween, which is unlike me. So this morning when my son started probing me about Halloween activities, I quickly thought these up.

They were delicious, and if I were making them again, I would put a few more ricotta/raspberry blobs on the top to maximise the “wound” effect.

If you’re looking for halloween inspiration this weekend, here are some suggestions:

http://www.marthastewart.com/photogallery/halloween-recipes-and-appetizers

http://www.notquitenigella.com/2010/10/26/halloween-party-food/

This may well be the last time I post a pancake recipe for a while, as my son seems to have gone off pancakes altogether, and I prefer eggs for breakfast on the weekend.

Makes approx 9 pancakes

In one bowl mix:

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons caster sugar (note I deliberately don’t use a lot of sugar as my son likes to drizzle lots of honey on the top, so add more if these aren’t sweet enough for you)

In another bowl mix until combined:

  • 2 eggs
  • half a cup of frozen raspberries
  • half a cup of ricotta cheese
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • a little lemon zest (I love the combination of lemon and raspberries)

You will also need:

  • butter
  • extra ricotta and raspberries
  • honey or maple syrup


Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until you have a batter.  Heat butter in a non stick fry pan and pour the mixture in – roughly the size of a fried egg each should do it.

Blob some extra ricotta and raspberries on the top, and gently cook until golden.  Keep the heat to a medium or they will  burn.

Flip over, and cook for just a minute then serve drizzled with honey or maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

The Simplicity Project ~ Jenn Pike

Transform your body & fall in love with yourself with Simplicity & Ease

The Abbotsford Kitchen

Go Cook Yourself

